The Mockingjay Sings!

Quickly, I brushed the poisonous creature off of my arm. My left hand reached for my saber once more and struck down the little green frog. His blood, along with the others’, formed a tiny pool of red on the forest floor. I could not even fathom the idea of sleeping at that moment, considering I had no idea whether or not another dart frog would attack again. Instead, I decided to take a little walk. Before I left, I noticed I was a bit parched. I cupped my hands together and scooped up some blood from the pool. The warm, tasteful blood slipped down my throat and made me eager to kill. I would definitely catch the other tributes off guard if I found them right after they awoke. That would be a fantastic way to say good morning.

The sun was peeping its way out from the horizon as I took my first steps through the jungle. I ventured for a couple of  hours, and I still hadn’t found anybody. I wiped off the tiny trickle of sweat from my forehead as I pondered the situation.

Where was everybody? Was I the only tribute left? Had I won the Games?!

I was a bit incredulous, but I still felt a large feeling of accomplishment as I stood there underneath the blistering sun. I had won the 80th Annual Hunger Games! Not that it was any surprise; I knew I was going to win all along. Now I just needed the Gamemakers to get me out of there and back home to District 8. I waited for a couple minutes. The minutes became hours, and eventually the hours became days.

Had I really won the Games? I had to have won. Nobody else was in the arena…or at least that’s what I thought.

Anxiety took over me. My mind was racing; my stomach was growling. I couldn’t take it anymore. When were they going to get me out of this horrible place? Killing was my only way to cope, and even that was taken away from me. There wasn’t a person, an animal, or anything that I could murder…except for myself. Without really noticing, my hand had made its way into my pocket, the pocket that held my light-saber. I grasped the weapon and slowly brought it up to my neck. My thumb gently pressed the bright red button. The weapon ignited immediately and I started to inch it towards my throat. I was about to do it, but then I finally reconsidered what I was doing. I suddenly fell to the ground and broke out in tears. For the first time in the Games, I was scared.

 

3 thoughts on “The Mockingjay Sings!

  1. I really the character development that you did in this blog. It showed Blake’s “true colors” of being a complete and total psychopath. I also liked the way you described how you felt about “winning” the games.

  2. This was very well written. I liked how you drank blood (even though I don’t think it would quench thirst) and thought you were going to do suicide but didn’t because you didn’t know what to do. Good writing as usually.

  3. Personally, I felt like the post was creepy. However, it was very descriptive. I didn’t find any problems. Good job!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *