Ladies and Gentlemen, let the Eightieth Hunger Games begin!

The adrenaline rushed within me. I stood there on the hard, metal circle, eager to elevate up to the arena. I reached into my back pocket and removed my rabbit’s foot. I could still smell the blood as I grasped it in my right hand. Gosh, what a wonderful smell it was. The scent seeped through my nostrils and gave me an even bigger rush. I was ready to kill. I was ready to make THEM bleed. I was ready to win. Suddenly, the ground beneath my feet started to rise and I was on my way up to the arena. It was pitch-black and I couldn’t see anything from inside my tube. It was cold, dark, and scary, and I loved it. Finally, I reached the surface. The sunlight hit me like a punch, and it took me awhile to readjust to the brightness. Soon, I was focused again and thirsty for some blood.

I glanced around at the other tributes. There were some who had a look of determination on their face as they prepared for the cannon to sound. It was so cute. They actually thought they had a chance of winning the Games. Most of the tributes were worried, however. They didn’t really show it, but I could sense their fear. I fed off of it; it made stronger. After scouting the competition, I gazed at the area surrounding us. There was a large body of crystal-clear water, tall and lengthy palm trees, but what interested me the most was a massive volcano. Red, hot lava oozed out the side and rolled slowly down to the ground. All I could think about was throwing one of these wimps in that giant volcano and watching them die a long and painful death.

Ten…

I had gotten so caught up about killing that I hadn’t even realized the Games were about to start.

Nine, Eight, Seven, Six, Five, Four, Three, Two…

Yes. This was it. This was the moment I had been waiting for.

One…

BANG!

It was the beginning of the Hunger Games, but it would soon be the end for those pathetic weaklings…

 

One thought on “Ladies and Gentlemen, let the Eightieth Hunger Games begin!

  1. I have to say that your post was definitely unique (in a good way). I haven’t read anything like it yet. I especially like the onomatopoeia, “BANG!”. The only thing is that some of your sentences were a bit choppy and/or short. Next time, you can maybe add some more figurative language and sensory details to really get the reader’s attention. Otherwise those few things, good job!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *